2023 Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

Notre Dame Regional High School is excited to announce its newest inductees into its Athletic Hall of Fame. This year’s class includes Joda Holloway ‘09 and the 2002 Boys Soccer state championship team.

The Notre Dame Regional High School Athletic Hall of Fame Award strives to preserve the heritage and tradition of excellence in the athletic programs at Notre Dame. Each year we recognize male and female athletes and coaches from St. Mary’s High School, Cape Catholic, Notre Dame and Notre Dame Regional High School who have made a significant contribution to athletic programs. Through this award, we are in search of outstanding athletes and coaches who exemplify the highest standards of sportsmanship and have brought honor and distinction to Bulldog athletics.  

Holloway, a 2009 graduate of Notre Dame, competed in soccer. Holloway was a member of the 2006 and 2007 Class 2 state championship teams during his sophomore and junior years respectively. He earned second team all-state honors during his junior year and first team all-state honors during his senior campaign, in which the Bulldogs finished third in the state.

Holloway played defense for his club team, the St. Louis Scott Gallagher U.S. Soccer Development Academy, and for his first three seasons as a Bulldog. During his senior year, Holloway was called to switch to a center midfielder. He had nine goals and 11 assists during the 2008 season. After high school, Holloway attended St. Louis University and was a member of the Billikens soccer team for four years.

The 2002 Notre Dame Boys Soccer team, coached by Brad Wittenborn, claimed the program’s first state title and finished with a 20-5 record . The team’s district run included victories over Windsor (10-0) and St. Pius (3-0). They beat Rosary 3-0 in the sectional game with goals from Adam Prasanphanich (2) and Tyler Cuba, and assists from Blake Urhahn and Jonathan Market.

The Bulldogs then went on to defeat Marshall 2-0 in the semifinal matchup. Jeff Brosey headed in the first goal of the game off a pass from Josh Essner. A second goal from Dustin Tatum quickly followed, assisted by Urhahn. Travis Siebert had six saves in goal to get the Bulldogs to the state final.

With two minutes and thirty-four seconds left in the fourth overtime, Brosey scored the go-ahead goal on an assist from Urhahn to beat St. Francis Borgia 1-0 in the Class 2 state championship game, making Notre Dame history.

Members of the 2002 team include the following: Christian Berens, Jeff Brosey, Wade Cramer, Tyler Cuba, Jason Delgado, Jacob Dufek, Frankie Ellis, Josh Essner, Blake Fisher, Tim Frank, Dee Goodin, Dustin Haupt, Jake Hency, David Kiblinger, Jonathan Market, Brendan McMeel, Adam Prasanphanich, Travis Siebert, Dustin Tatum, David Unterreiner, Mark Unterreiner, Blake Urhahn, Bryce Willen, and coaches Brad Wittenborn and Jeff Worley.

A Hall of Fame banquet, sponsored by First State Community Bank, will be held on June 17 to honor the 2023 inductees. You can find a list of criteria, current members, and nomination form online at www.notredamehighschool.org/athletics.